Tuesday, December 10, 2013

East Africa news: Single Visa for Kenya, Rwanda and Uganda

As of January 2014, three East African countries, Kenya, Uganda and Rwanda, will benefit from a single visa deal that was announced during the recent World Tourism Market (WTM) in UK. This will facilitate free movement of tourist and citizens alike.
Speaking after announcing the launch of the joint visa, Kenya’s Cabinet Secretary for East African Affairs, Commerce and Tourism Mrs. Phylis Kandie, Uganda’s Tourism and Wildlife Minister Ms Agnes Egunyo and Rwanda’s High Commissioner to UK Ambassador William Nkurunziza said deal was a major boost to tourism.
“We have been in discussion over this matter for the last six months and we are proud today to announce that we finally have a joint visa that has made the three countries borderless. This is an opportunity us to increase tourist numbers as we will jointly offer diversified tourism products,” Says Kandie.

Tanzania, a competing country in Tourism and other economic pillars in the region was not represented in the launch.

No comments:

Post a Comment